NFHM Opening Event

1 August 2020 | By Jan Squire | Filed in: On-line Event.

Date/Time
Date(s) - 01/08/2020
5:30 pm - 7:30 pm

Categories


Speaker: Dr Rory Sweetman – Defending Trinity College, Dublin.

Rory will discuss the events and the role which ANZACs played in this historic episode. Rory has written a book on this Irish event, and more information is taken from Amazon:

“Little has been written on Trinity College’s role in Easter Week 1916 as a ‘loyal nucleus’ dividing the insurgents and providing an effective counterweight to rebel headquarters in the GPO. This book reveals how five New Zealanders, acting as the core of a small squad of colonial troops, provided a vital shield to protect Trinity from capture. Had the College fallen to the surprise attack launched on it by the rebels at midnight on Easter Monday, its 324th year may well have been its last. Letters written home by the New Zealanders give fresh insight into important aspects of the insurrection and allow us to test some controversial claims against both Trinity’s own record and the various rebel accounts. More importantly, they help to answer questions left unasked in previous studies.”

Bookings must be made for this event, and log-in details will be sent in an Email 2-3 hours before the start. You will need to connect using Zoom, but the link in the Email will connect you through your default browser.
Please note that most people will need to create a user account before being able to register. We apologise for this but it is a security necessity.

The event starts at 7:30pm in New Zealand, 5:30pm in Sydney, and 3:30pm in Perth, on Saturday 1 August 2020.

Bookings

Bookings are closed for this event.


2 comments on “NFHM Opening Event

  1. Jan Squire says:

    Will respond by Email.

  2. vivparker says:

    Can I still log in for this event
    vivparker@xtra.co.nz

Leave a Reply